MON 2 AUG, 20:30

Courtyard of the Archaeological Museum of Chios

Αdmission free with an admission card


Classical music concert with works by Beethoven, Brahms, Poulenc, Mahler, etc.

The Ensemble 4.1 has received rave reviews and international awards, including the nomination for the OPUS KLASSIK 2019 award, but it has one more reason to be proud: its innovation, since there is no chamber music ensemble with a similar instrumentation. In addition, the atmosphere created and the way the four musicians –three woodwind soloists and a pianist, Thomas Hoppe– interact with the audience, make their every appearance unique and unforgettable. Their repertoire always includes magnificent works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven. They also aim to highlight works of the early 19th century that are rarely performed, by composers such as Walter Gieseking, Theodor Verhey, Heinrich von Herzogenberg and David Stephen.

Thomas Hoppe, piano
Jörg Schneider, oboe
Alexander Glücksmann, clarinet
Christoph Knitt, bassoon



Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)

Piano trio in B flat major, op. 11 (“Gassenhauer Trio”)

  • Allegro con brio
  • Adagio
  • Tema con Variazioni “Pria ch’io l’impegno”. Allegretto

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)

Clarinet sonata no. 1, in F minor, op. 120

  • Allegro appassionato
  • Andante un poco adagio
  • Allegretto grazioso
  • Vivace

Francis Poulenc (1899 – 1963)

Trio for oboe, bassoon and piano

  • Presto
  • Andante
  • Rondo

Gustav Mahler (1860 – 1911)

Piano quartet in A minor

Jenni Brandon (born 1977

Sea quartet for oboe, clarinet, bassoon and piano